Fly On the Wall: Book Review

Rating: 5 out of 5.

This book is about a girl learning to love herself, taking chances and not to judge people from appearances.

Gretchen Yee feels like she’s a outsider. Too scared to tell her crush, she likes him and her best friend too busy to hang out. What are boys really like? Are they always this terrible? Gretchen wishes she was fly on the wall in the boys locker room. Little does Gretchen know, wishes do come true.


Pros

Gretchen Yee. She felt like a real weird high school girl. I loved her weirdness, love for comic books even loved her dirty room. She was a flawed character and realistic portray of high school girl.

The writing. It felt like a real high school and everything was realistic (of course not her turning into a fly part but everything else). All the characters had personalities, didn’t fall flat and they all felt like real teenagers. The book was so funny and awkward at times but real.

Titus. Sorry, I loved him.

Cons?

The writing. Now, I really related to this book and that’s why I loved this book but keep in mind I’m a high school. The writing is childish so I can see how an adult might not like this book but the writing perfect for the main character who is a high schooler.

Biscuits and gurkin. All the characters do refer to body parts as biscuits & gurkin. Childish but funny.

I wanted to fight the parents. The mom said,”I don’t know what we did wrong with you I really don’t know”. The mom was going through a tough time but seriously saying this to your child and leaving her for a vacation. woww.

This book did use the f word multiple times and sl*t shamed but called it out.

– Hopefully I encouraged someone to read this. Also thank you Ariel Bissett from the Book Unbound podcast (My favorite podcast) for recommending this book to me!

Nyah

Leave a comment